Olga D. Kligerman, D.O.

Olga D. Kligerman, D.O.
Board-certified in Internal Medicine, Medical Oncology and Hematology
Specialty Training: 
Yale University School of Medicine
Medical School: 
Des Moines University

I knew at a young age that I wanted to become a physician. That moment came when I saw an open heart surgery on TV. In high school, my favorite subjects included the sciences. I went on to an all –women’s college in New York City, Barnard College, and for some time considered majoring in Religion or Women’s Studies, but never forgetting about medicine. In medical school I initially thought I would be an OB/GYN, probably from the influence of women in my life and having completed undergraduate studies in an all women’s college. Instead I chose Internal Medicine and within few weeks of my internship at University of Minnesota I knew I would continue my medical training in the field of Oncology, and Hematology. I knew that was the field that fit my personality the best, and the patients I was most connected to.

After medical school and residency in the Mid-West, my husband and I decided to move closer to New York City so he could continue his studies in film production. We also wanted to be closer to our families. Leaving University of Minnesota and the Twin Cities to come back to the East Coast was a difficult but positive decision. I had the opportunity to finish my specialty training at Yale University, my husband completed his graduate work in film production and we were finally within driving distance to Central New York and our families.

Finally, we were done with my training in Oncology and Hematology and my husband’s studies in film. We thought about all the places we could move to in the country. But, when the opportunity came for me to join HOA, there was no question, we were moving back. We knew what a positive community Central New York is and we wanted our children to have the same experience we had growing up here. Working at HOA has been an incredible experience.

When I am away from work, I spend most of the time with my husband and three sons. We enjoy being with our extended families and try to get outdoors as much as possible. We are always finding new places to go for a walk or a hike, and new playgrounds to take our son to. And I am always looking for an antique festival to browse through jewelry.

Phone: 315.472.7504
Fax: 315.479.8639